Nothing But Thieves

The band I’m about to introduce just goes to show that I’m really not tied down to a certain music genre. Everyone that knows me well, knows that in the past I’ve actually been more of a rock gal at heart. So I was over the moon to discover “Nothing But Thieves” and go back to the roots.

Nothing But Thieves is a alternative rock band from Southend-on-Sea in England consisting of five dashing young men called Conor Mason (lead vocals), Joe Langridge-Brown (on guitar), Dominic Craik (also on guitar), Philip Blake (on bass) and James Price (drumming those drums).

This constellation exists since 2012 and the band have slowly but surely been rising since then, signing their record deal in 2014 with RCA Records, being on stage at numerous festivals (even the Hurricane Festival this summer – the first time I saw them live) and enjoying the honour of having the “Hottest Record In The World” and a “Track Of The Day” (for their single ‘Itch’), as of being on BBC Radio 1’s Live Lounge.

Nothing but thieves

But it’s 2015 that shall be NBT’s year. After gracing us with several of their singles off their brand new debut album (out since Friday, 16th of October) also called “Nothing But Thieves”, the guys are just about to embark on their own tour, which is already completely sold out in the UK!

So, their album dropped just two days ago but I have to say I’m in love. I truly believe it’s one of those albums for the ages and has tracks on it that you can listen to on repeat without getting bored. I’ll be listening to it for a little longer and definitely think a album review is coming up, thus I won’t be getting into all the songs in too much detail yet.

Nothing But Thieves @ Hurricane'15
Nothing But Thieves @ Hurricane’15

It’s crazy to think that I saw the guys play the early afternoon slot at Hurricane in June but only really being reminded of their music a month later while hearing “Wake Up Call” in the radio in England. Looking through my festival photos I only now remember thinking “Damn, these guys are amazing and deserve a much better slot!”.

It’s Connor Mason’s voice with the other boys’ dynamics that makes them such a great band on stage and really reflects in their music. Trust me on this: go listen to the album. The diversity of the songs really gives everyone something they’ll love to listen to. My personal faves include: ‘Ban All The Music’, ‘Wake Up Call’, ‘Graveyard Whistling’, ‘Honey Whiskey’ and ‘Lover, Please Stay’ (just to name a fraction).

For all of you that love the likes of Muse, Arcade Fire, Jeff Buckley, The Foo Fighters and even London Grammer will love Nothing But Thieves. Their musical influences are a little all over the place but it works in their favour.

Nothing But Thieves @ Hurricane'15
Nothing But Thieves @ Hurricane’15

As for me, I’m off to listen to some more music off the album and revel in the fact that I shall be seeing them live once more in Berlin next month! So stay tuned for an album review and probably some concert photos. As always, feel free to let me know what you think of NBT and tell me what track is your favourite?

http://www.nbthieves.com/

Video Cred: YouTube

Photo Cred: windishagency.com, Chub Magazine/MTV, Marla Isabelle (own photos)

Leave a Reply

