Interview: Skinny Living

It’s the middle of the week and I’m off work early to see Skinny Living play in Hamburg. Now, this is something I’ve been really looking forward to for a while.

I’ve mentioned the guys in a previous post when I stumbled across them through a live session video on YouTube . And from then on, I’ve been hoping to see a gig for myself. (Needless to say, I got a ticket for this day as soon as they were available.)

The Skinny Living guys are playing a somewhat smaller venue than I thought they were – it’s not the actual Mojo Club but the Mojo Cafe but the whole thing looks snuggly enough on this dreary Wednesday and I can’t wait to see how it’ll all look and sound later.

I’m a little giddy as per usual when it comes to interviews but have a little time beforehand to watch the guys – that’s Danny Hepsworth, Will Booth and Rhys Anderson – set up and start their soundcheck. Halfway through, I’m called up and head backstage to chat with lead singer, Ryan Johnston.

18620426_1388965874513237_4708674990190294957_n

So, Skinny Living – who are they you may ask? Well, they’re an up and coming band from the UK, that came about around four years ago when they all went in for an open mic night somewhere in Wakefield, Yorkshire. Story goes, they all came in as as solo acts but left as jamming buddies and later on, turned into a band.

Their name, I was told, derived from the fact that when starting out – well, the boys were kinda broke i.e. skinny pockets. Still, they loved life then and thus both things came together to make ‘Skinny Living’.

Maybe something that’s worth mentioning before hand is how the band actually managed to grow their following: Behold the power of social media. It’s no secret that YouTube, Facebook and co. can actually help pave a path to stardom. And the guys really have used social media to their advantage.

And that’s actually how I came across these guys. I was scrolling through my Youtube subscriptions when I a new Christian Tierney video with the guy’s singing “Got Control” (one of the many reasons I still love this song a lot!). But after a little more digging, I also found some of their own videos all over their Facebook. And with “own” I mean, hand head – selfie mode videos of them jamming, or performing. This immediately made the whole experience watching, so much more intimate.

But enough of my rambling, let’s just find out what was said during my brief exchange…

So you guys seemed to be having quite the successful and busy year so far. I mean, you’ve signed to a record label, RCA Records, you’re touring quite successfully (two sold out shows on just completed Europe/UK tour, London and hometown, Wakefield). And you’ve even done a living room tour!  There always seems to be something going on…

How has this experience been? Have you really been able to enjoy it? Or does it sometimes seem like a huge blur? 

Ryan: We love it! We were just talking about this earlier and how much we love it. We feel very comfortable on the road and yes, we miss family and friends but being on the go is what makes this so much fun. Everyday has something new to offer.

I first found you on YouTube actually – performing a song “live”.  And much of the other videos out there on social media are live performances, rather than just music videos. Even some of your stuff on Spotify are live sessions. So what is it that you love so much about doing a live performance? 

Ryan: Everything we write and film – or anything we really do is towards being on stage. The best part of it all is having people singing words back to us, with a lot of emotions in their faces or crying because of the songs because maybe they’re singing it from a completely different place… Like, it means so much to them than it does to me or the boys. So that’s probably the best – the connection between people.

So, do you actually share song meanings with fans or do you prefer to keep that under wraps?

Ryan: Yeah, we do. I tell them where it (the song) came from, what inspired me to write it. But it speaks to people in their own ways as well… I mean I used to have a fear of telling people what the songs were about in case it ruined it for them but I think it makes it stronger and makes people understand a bit more who I am personally when I write this music. Which makes it all a bit more believable.

Speaking of sharing. You guys are on social media a lot. And with a lot I mean, Facebook live streaming on the road, constant Instagram stories (that each of you guys personally take charge of) and really take the time to be that much more close and connected with your fans that way. But what fuelled you to share so much online?

Ryan: Facebook was the first platform that gave us this opportunity to do what we’re doing. When we stated uploading videos to Facebook, that’s what got us in touch with people. And I think because we first played in pubs, wrote a lot of songs while playing infront of people as well, which was fun but we were seeing this reaction off people that was really positive. This inspired us to continues and even put our stuff online and so helped us reach a bigger audience. And this confirmed to us that people liked what we do.

So keeping it all online and sharing it, is keeping a healthy group of people around us, people that really appreciated the music that we make.

What would happen should you become super famous? Would you still handle your accounts yourselves (or would you “pass on” the job)? 

Ryan: Yes, definitely (do it ourselves). It’s something natural now, where we’ve come from. We have tried it before (letting someone else film) but it doesn’t work. I think the thing is that, especially when you’re in the industry, there are so many creative people involved at once and creative people, when in a group, are highly opinionated. Especially when you have someone that comes in to film you and they then come and take away the content that they’re filmed. They then cut that content up and then make what they think is the best version. While we’ve always made what we make so we kind of know what our fans want to see and know what to post.

You must believe that social media is the way to go when starting out as an unknown band, then?

Ryan: It’s the only reason, we’re doing what we’re doing. Without a doubt, we wouldn’t be doing this if it wasn’t for Facebook. I was talking about this the other day, I don’t think us arriving to a record label with a handful of songs and no following, would be ever doing this. I think the record label got involved because they’ve seen that we can do what we do and make good music but at the same time we had a solid fanbase already. So Facebook, and the other social media platforms we use, have really helped in that.

At that point we’re interrupted by Will. Ryan is needed in soundcheck…

Well then, last question. It’s the one question I ask everyone that I speak to on the blog: If you could stop anyone on the street and say, “Hey, you need to listen to this or this person…” who would that be?

Ryan: Dave. He’s this British rapper. Just heard his new track on the radio and it’s excellent. I love all the things he tackles in it. That would be one…

(Will chimes in): Nothing But Thieves. Great band.

Ryan: Yeah, they’re unreal. To see them live – make sure you do that!

Will: I’ve seen them live twice and they’re top lads, incredibly musicians.

Ryan: Oh and Paloma Faith, her new single’s awesome!

Well there you have it! A big thank you to Skinny Living for coming to Germany and just being such a lovely and welcoming.

I see a lot of great things for these incredible talented guys. I can only beseech you to check out their music and giving Skinny Living some love on their social media. And if you ever have the chance, go see them live too.

And check out their newest single and video, Fade, above. And a live set of their current EP, 6, below.

 

Photos: Facebook
Videos: YouTube

Leave a comment